About Us
Support Us
For Producers
NRD Writers
Contact UsForum


New River exists to nurture our finest writers of plays, screenplays, fiction and poetry, and to encourage them to create the best work of which they are capable. New River values distinctively original voices who write with a love of language and a compassion for the human condition, however troubled it may be. We need better stories because, finally, we are the stories we tell. At New River our mission is to develop a stream of literature that enlightens our souls and refreshes the human spirit.

New River writers have achieved spectacular honors. In 2007, Pulitzer Prize laureate N. Scott Momaday was among nine recipients of the National Medal of Arts, the nation's highest honor for artistic excellence; Denis Johnson was awarded the National Book Award; Cassandra Medley won the August Wilson Prize; and John Mighton was awarded the $100,000 Simonovitch Prize.

Click here for the latest news from New River Dramatists

Click here to visit our Blog

New River has recently been granted its own publishing imprint by McFarland Books, Plays from New River: the first volume of three new American plays will be available in 2011. In addition, we have been rendered our own radio show by Art International Radio (AIR), a non-profit, online presentation in which a new segment appears every two weeks and all previous segments are permanently archived so that any of the shows can be heard at any time from any place. Here is a direct line to The New River Radio Show on ARTon AIR.org:

Click here to listen to The New River Radio Show